Will Taylor

My name is Will Taylor. I'm a second year Master's student in the Higher Education Administration program here at the SOE. I grew up near Little Rock, Arkansas and attended W&M as an undergrad. I graduated in 2011 with a degree in History and Global Studies. While at W&M I studied abroad in Morocco for a summer, so this will be my second trip to Africa! Prior to starting this program I lived in Tallahassee, Florida for two years and worked at a community college. I am currently a GA in the Global Education Office at the Reves Center, where I primarily work with the College's undergraduate summer study abroad programs. After I graduate this May, I hope to continue working in the field of international education. Last summer I went to Italy with Dr. Eddy and this year I have been assisting Dr. Cole in planning our program in South Africa. My wife, Megan, will also be joining the group and we are looking forward to the travel experience before moving to wherever my next job is! I'm excited to learn more about South African culture through this trip as well as gain a better understanding of how the country's higher education system has changed as a result of the end of Apartheid.

Kathy Goss Atanasov

IMG_1540.jpg Greetings. My name is Kathy Goss Atanasov and I am a third-year doc student in Counselor Education with hopes to graduate next year. My husband and I celebrate our 10 year anniversary this summer. We have two kids, Alexander (Xander) is 7.5 and Ava is 6.

I grew up in Texas, but moved to Boston for a graduate degree in history and stayed on for 7 years, working as a Information Technology professional. I moved to Williamsburg (love it!) in 2005 after my husband accepted a faculty position at William and Mary. The same year I started my master's in school counseling at W&M and eventually worked as a high school counselor for a few years in Williamsburg before deciding to stay home with my babies and eventually going on for my doctorate.

For the past three years, I have worked in various clinical sites as a mental health and substance abuse counselor including Jamestown High School, Lafayette High School, the New Leaf Clinic, and Colonial Community Corrections. My research focuses on student substance users.

I am an avid fiction and non-fiction reader, theatre fan, traveler, NPR listener, and aspiring good mom. I do not understand sports, fashion, or chess.

Megan Taylor

My name is Megan Taylor and I am an Asst. Director at the William & Mary Alumni Association, in the Alumni Events office. I hold a master's degree in Clarinet Performance from Florida State and received my BA in Music from William & Mary in 2011. I am originally from Fairfax, but have called Williamsburg "home" for almost a quarter of my life - my mother is in the process of retiring here so it's truly becoming home for my family! I am married to Will and we are parents to our two fur monsters, Oscar and Emma (Emma is pictured).

I have always enjoyed travelling and been fortunate enough to visit ten countries on three continents thusfar, in addition to 28 states. I am looking forward to studying in South Africa and this will be my second study abroad trip - my first was to Galway, Ireland through W&M's summer study abroad program. My overall research interests include learning more about people and their culture and the ways in which music can impact or shape a cultural experience, as well as create a perceived identity to outsiders.Specifically for this trip, I am curious to learn about the cultural shift that occurred post-Apartheid and to hopefully gain some insight into the role music played throughout SA's tumultuous years/recovery/today. I am also looking forward to learning more about higher education, as I have yet to take a course through the SOE! I am also hopeful we can all enjoy a Malay cooking safari together (see more on the discussion page) and document the experience on our blog, Cooking With Willis (cookingwithwillis.blogspot.com). After the study abroad portion concludes, I look forward to spending a few days exploring the Knysna region where Will and I will spend a "Crazee Cat Day" taking walks with cheetahs and learning more about animal rehabilitation in SA.

Richelle Joe


Hello everyone! I am Richelle Joe, a doctoral student in Counselor Education and Supervision at W&M. I recently defended my dissertation, which explored the relationships among counseling students' moral development, HIV/AIDS knowledge, and attitude toward HIV/AIDS. After graduation and our trip to South Africa, I will be moving to Orlando, FL to take on a new adventure as an assistant professor at the University of Central Florida.

I am originally from Virginia Beach, but now live in the Richmond area. Prior to coming to W&M, I served as a high school social studies teacher and a middle school counselor in Chesapeake public schools. For the past four years, I have focused on family counseling, providing in-home services in the Richmond area and outpatient services through the New Horizons Family Counseling Center housed in the SOE.

A few of my favorite things include music (especially hip hop and jazz), poetry (both reading and writing), and sports. Although I am a Virginia native, I root for all teams Chicago!

Katie Winstead Reichner

Hi all - I'm Katie. I'm a third year doctoral student in the EPPL Higher Ed Program. I'm wrapping up coursework in 2015, with hopes of finishing my degree sometime in 2016. I am so excited for this experience in South Africa! I'm interested in learning about this relatively 'new' country and how higher education is growing to meet the needs of it's population.

I'm a part-time student, and work full-time as the Associate Director of Student Activities at Christopher Newport University, about 30 minutes south of W&M. I came to Hampton Roads 5 years ago after my first post-masters position at the University of Maryland, College Park. Before that, I completed both my undergrad degree (in Organizational Communication) and my masters degree (in Higher Education and Student Affairs Leadership) at Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo. I grew up in the Detroit suburbs, but was born in Northern Virginia - I've come full circle! I now call Chesapeake home, where I live with my husband, Rob and our black lab, Waldo.

When I'm not hanging out with college students or being a student myself, I enjoy cooking, eating, running, and traveling. I often combine these hobbies by traveling to races! Most recently, I ran the Disney Half in January and the Cherry Blossom Ten Mile Run in DC in April.

Eddie R. Cole

Hello, everyone.
SA headshot.jpg
I’m excited to visit South Africa. A bit about me besides my faculty life—I’m grew up in Boligee, Alabama. It’s a small town in west Alabama.

I’m a sports fan. If it’s competitive, I’ll watch it.

Fun fact: one of my most nervous moments was in high school when playing in an all-star game (second base) in front of professional scouts. Obviously, I didn’t do anything too special that day because I’m here instead of eyeing retirement from pro baseball by now.

Since joining the faculty here at W&M, I played on the faculty and staff co-ed flag football team that won the intramural league championship last fall. There is video proof: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJsgwTXQiF0 . Therefore, Cape Town has been on my ‘to do’ list for some time due to sports—the 2010 World Cup was hosted there!